RIP Notorious B.I.G.

biggie

12 years ago today we lost the real king of NYC… Christopher George Latore Wallace [May 21, 1972 – March 9, 1997], otherwise known as The Notorious B.I.G. or Biggie Smalls was killed in a drive-by shortly after the 97 Soul Train Awards in LA. Life After Death was released 2 weeks later and practically dominated the charts following it’s release. We still don’t know who did it, though I have heard there are some leads in the case.

But after he was killed, I started to realize his effect in hip hop culture; in only 3 short years [as a signed, major rapper] he had become a cultural icon.. I remember my social studies class even talked about his and 2Pac’s deaths, and how their influence would live on. About 3 days before Life After Death dropped, I picked up my first hip hop single, Hypnotize [b/w I Got A Story To Tell] and literally rocked it forever. I still have it somewhere actually, and I have to say it’s the main reason why I got into rap music. So glad I picked it up.

In the time since he passed, we’ve gotten 2 posthumous albums, a greatest hits album and even a biographical movie, which did pretty well [$36,816,591 so far], which leaves me to believe that his legacy will live on forever. Definitely essential listening to say the least.

Biggie @ 17

“Juicy”

“One More Chance”

Vodpod videos no longer available.

“Hypnotize”

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Also check out the DJ Drama & Cookin’ Soul Tribute Mixtape, which features Skyzoo, CL Smooth, La the Darkman, Willie the Kid, Grafh, Amanda Diva, Styles P, Jean Grae and more.

~ by redspyda on March 9, 2009.

One Response to “RIP Notorious B.I.G.”

  1. LOVE Biggie, my fav is Kick In the Door! EPIC!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
