Flawless Scrobbling With MediaMonkey 3 & Last.fm plug-in

mediamonkey3

Note: Last.fm is one of my favorite places on the web, so this post is an update of a journal I did on there around Christmas time.

Since I’ve joined Last.fm, I’ve only used 2 media players for scrobbling: MediaMonkey (versions 2 & 3) and Xbox Media Center, on my Xbox. Over time I’ve noticed that Last.fm has made official plugins for the bigger media players out there – Windows Media Player, iTunes, Foobar 2000 and Winamp. But what about MediaMonkey?

For the last 2 years, the audioscrobbler plugin has been the only choice for scrobbling with MM, but the thing that irked me was that my tracks wouldn’t scrobble in real-time (ex: “listening now” with other players).. so the other day I decided, since the MM developers had a beta going for an official scrobbler, why not try it out?

After much trial and error, I’ve found the perfect combination: MM  3.1 & MM Last.fm plugin beta 1.0.2.17… and no Last.fm player needed!

All 3.0 skins work with it, as do the scripts. As with any beta software, you risk losing data (or other errors) and you may want to back up your data prior to using 3.1. I haven’t had any problems with the betas before, but better to be safe than sorry!

Update:  I’ve updated the info, as MediaMonkey 3.1 is at a final release now.

~ by redspyda on April 22, 2009.

3 Responses to “Flawless Scrobbling With MediaMonkey 3 & Last.fm plug-in”

  1. I love your word flawless 🙂 Yeah It’s worked. The MM Is great 🙂

  2. I have an error installing the script.

Leave a Reply

 
