My Favorite S60 links…


While I’m a die hard Blackberry user these days, my love for Symbian and the S60 smartphone platform remains my favorite to work with. While it’s not currently activated for use my Nokia N82 still gets much use on a day to day basis and I love that I’ve been able to hack it with relatively no problem. As I wrote up the Blackberry post I started to think back on my favorite S60 apps, even as I contemplate a move to Maemo in the near future. The best part? Most of these apps can be installed on either the onboard memory or to the memory card:

Mobbler [mobile scrobbler for S60 3rd and 5th ed. phones, constantly being updated]
Skyfire [as much as I love Bolt, this is the BEST mobile browser currently in existence. Plays flash files too!]
Google Maps [when combined with Nokia’s AGPS, it’s impossible to get lost]
Fring [for IM, SIP, Facebook and Last.fm on the go, including Skype vid calling if you have the Nokia 5800, N97, N97 mini, X6, N95, N95 8 GB or N82]
Opera Mini [nice alternative to the native browser and Skyfire]
Gmail [integrate Gmail with Nokia’s built in messaging functions]
Ovi Maps [exclusive to Nokia’s Symbian phones, you can enjoy turn by turn navigation globally, for free]
Free-iSMS [adds threaded SMS to S60, but the app has to be signed]
Gravity [the best Twitter client for S60, also supports Laconica & Ping.fm; it costs $9.95 but it’s highly recommended]

~ by redspyda on February 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
